College Planning » NCAA Links

NCAA Links

NCAA Links 


If a student takes the current SAT before March 2016 and then takes the redesigned SAT at a later date, the NCAA Eligibility Center will not combine section scores from the current and redesigned SAT when determining a student's initial eligibility. The NCAA Eligibility Center will only combine section scores from the same version of the test. Because the redesigned SAT varies in design and measures different academic concepts than the current SAT, a numerical score on the current test may not be equivalent to the same numerical score on the redesigned test. Students should use recipient code 9999 when sending scores to the NCAA Eligibility Center.






Over the past years, RHS has had many student-athletes who have continued their athletic careers into college.  The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) has guidelines, however, to determine if college freshmen are eligible to compete in inter-collegiate athletics.  (This does NOT apply to club and intramural activities.)

All NCAA colleges are classified as Division I, II, and III schools.  Division I and II schools may offer athletic scholarships, and therefore, require student-athletes to apply to the Eligibility Center in order to determine eligibility.  Division III schools do not offer athletic scholarships, so eligibility determination is not required.

If you may possibly be offered an athletic scholarship, you must register with the NCAA through the Eligibility Center.  This process is two-fold:  1) You must show that you have taken "college prep level" coursework during high school, and 2) You must attain certain credits, GPA and SAT/ACT scores.

1)  There is a list of approved courses in the RHS Program of Studies Guide for you to check out,  RHS students should be aware that many electives DO NOT count as "college prep" according to the NCAA clearinghouse.

2)  The NCAA requires a certain number of credits in each core subject area, BUT the NCAA will also re-calculate each student's GPA to count ONLY those courses approved by the NCAA.  After the GPA is re-calculated, the NCAA then uses a sliding scale of GPA and SAT/ACT scores to determine eligibility.

What students must do:

*  From the start of 9th grade, it is imperative that student-athletes with scholarship aspirations consider carefully their course selection choices.  They should be taking at least traditional level courses and working hard to do well in them.

*  At the end of the 11th grade (six semesters), students competing for athletic scholarships must also submit a transcript to the NCAA Clearinghouse.  Transcripts must be sent through the guidance office.


Initial Eligibility Requirements passed by the NCAA for August 1, 2016 - this information affects prospects for the 2016 class.

The Class of 2016 must pass 10 Core Credits prior to their 7th High School Semester (senior year) to be determined eligible.  These courses may not be retaken.

Also, sliding scale requirements for eligibility as a freshman have increased.

Division 1 Initial-eligibility Requirements

Core Course

*NCAA Division 1 requires 16 core courses.

*NCAA Division 1 will require 10 core courses to be completed prior to the seventh semester (seven of the 10 must be combinations of English, math or natural or physical science that meet the distribution requirements below).  These 10 courses become "locked in" at the seventh semester and cannot be retaken for grade improvement.

*Beginning August 1, 2016, it will be possible for a Division 1 College-cound student-athlete to still receive athletics aid and the ability to practice with the team if he or she fails to meet the 10 course requirement but would not be able to compete.

Test Scores:

*Division 1 uses a sliding scale to match test scores and core grade-point averages (GPA). For more information visit:

*The SAT score used for NCAA purposes includesonly the cirtical reading and math sections.  The writing section of the SAT is not used.

*The ACT score used for NCAA purposes is a sum


*Be sure to look at your high school's List of NCAA Courses on the NCAA Eligibility Center's website Only courses that appear on your school's List of NCAA Courses will be used in the calculation of the core GPA. Use the list as a guide.

*Dividion 1 sutdents enrolling full time before August 1, 2016, should use Sliding Scale A to determine eligibility to receive athletics aid, practice and competition during the first year.

*Division 1 GPA required to receive to athletics aid and practice on or after August 1, 2016, is 2.000 (corresponding test-score requirments are listed on Sliding Scale B).

*Divisions 1 GPA required to be elilgible for competition on or after August 1, 2016 is 2.300 (corresponding test-socre requirements are listed on Sliding Scale B.)

*Remember the NCAA GPA is calculated using NCAA core courses only.


16 Core Courses

4 Years of English

3 Years of Mathematics (Algebra 1 or higher)

2 Years of Natural/Physical science-

(1 year of lab if offered by high school)

1 Year of additional English, Mathematics or

Natural/Physical Science

2 Years of Social Science

4 Years of additional courses (from any area above, Foreign Language, or comparative religion/philosophy)


Students who enroll full time at an NCAA Division I school this fall must graduate high school and meet ALL of the following requirements:

  • Complete 16 core courses:
    • Four years of English
    • Three years of math (Algebra I or higher)
    • Two years of natural/physical science (including one year of lab science if your high school offers it)
    • One additional year of English, math, or natural/physical science
    • Two years of social science
    • Four additional years of English, math, natural/physical science, social science, foreign language, comparative religion or philosophy
  • Complete 10 core courses, including seven in English, math, or natural/physical science, before the start of the seventh semester. Once students begin their seventh semester, they must have more than 10 core courses completed to be able to repeat or replace any of the 10 courses used in the preliminary academic certification. 
  • Earn at least a 2.3 GPA in their core courses
  • Earn an SAT combined score or ACT sum score matching their core-course GPA on the Division I sliding scale, which balances their test score and core-course GPA. If students have a low test score, they will need a higher core-course GPA to be eligible. If they have a low core-course GPA, they will need a higher test score to be eligible.